Home > Health > My Introduction and Quitting Smoking, chapter 1

My Introduction and Quitting Smoking, chapter 1

Hey there, and welcome to Nail-ing Life! This is my first post, so please bear with me.

About Me

Okay, now I’ve already given my ‘About’ information on the given page, but I want to talk about it a little more. My name is Samantha Bradley, and the main reasons I started this blog were:

  1. To document my ‘exploits’ in quitting smoking, and
  2. To show off my stash of nail polishes, as well as what I’m wearing on my nails for the given day.

Now, the main reason, above all, as to why I started this blog: to document my ‘exploits’ in quitting smoking. I’d like to do this because, why?

Basically, to garner support from all those who are trying to quit smoking and encourage their comments. Also I’d like to hear your stories on quitting smoking. It gives me peace knowing that I can do it, and it allows me, in turn, to support you in your efforts.

Quitting Smoking

Today is Chapter One in my story of quitting smoking. It began on Saturday, June 13, when I started using the patch. Unfortunately, I’m not fully ‘quit’ as I’d like to be. I still smoke one cigarette at the least and three at the most, although this is going to change. Now.

I decided to quit smoking for three distinct reasons.

  1. My meager budget cannot handle buying carton after carton of cigarettes, month after month. There are better things to buy than cigarettes, am I right?
  2. There’s a lot of crud in my nose and around my nostrils every time I smoke. It’s nasty, and I am absolutely sick of it.
  3. Every time I smoke, sometimes I go overboard, and I end up with chest aches around the lung area, or headaches. I’m tired of battling those aches, and I want to breathe easier.

I have learned two things on my own along the way in my quest to quitting smoking. Yes, I’m sure those of you who have already quit are telling me this is remedial, but for me it’s a breakthrough that I would love to share.

  1. Quitting smoking is not a destination that you can achieve simply by putting down the cigarettes. It is more of a journey, trying to learn new ways of coping with life without a cigarette. It is as much a mental toughness as it is a physical strength. And the journey, in this case, can be the best thing that will ever happen to you after you get past the roughest parts.
  2. I had an epiphany while I was sweeping up my kitchen and living room floors, and taking down old newspapers that I never bothered to read. The epiphany was: What could I have been doing all this time I was smoking a cigarette? And then it hit me–I could have been cleaning my apartment. I could have stopped to smell the roses. Yeah.

Now, after reading articles on about.com that deal with quitting smoking, I have learned two key things. The first is that I have to eliminate junkie thinking. The second is that I have to learn to see smoking for what it really is–a nasty, killer addiction.

In all this time, I have gone three entire days without smoking even one cigarette. I would love to make it four entire days, and two in a row. The only thing I can do now is to take it one day at a time.

Tomorrow will be a new day. And by then I will have my camera to take pictures, so there will be COTD (Color of the Day) posts and the like, for all you nail polish lovers out there.

Categories: Health
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

