Home > China Glaze, OPI > Double Color of the Week: China Glaze Watermelon Rind and OPI Can You Tapas This?

Double Color of the Week: China Glaze Watermelon Rind and OPI Can You Tapas This?

So this is a bit unusual for me. I’m going to do a double CotW post. Anyway, I’ll need a bit of time not only for this post, but also to update since my connection is so damn slow. So consider this ‘under construction’, and hopefully ‘finished’ tomorrow.

Anyway, check out the deets below.

Watermelon Rind

Watermelon Rind

Here’s the review on China Glaze Watermelon Rind.

•Application: It went about as well as you could expect. Not too gummy, but at the same time not too watery. Makes for a good combination, I think.
•Dry Time: Was about average. I applied this on Sunday, so I couldn’t tell you off the top of my head.
•Coverage: Based on my piccies above, I would have to say that this color covered in the average three to four coats.
•Wear: As with all my nail colors, I experienced tipwear within 12 hours of applying the polish. Luckily, since I applied my usual Nailtiques as a base, the wear didn’t get any farther than that. Or it could have been because I can’t usually stand to have a polish on my nails for more than 24 hours before I feel like I must change it. Yeah, I have polish AD/HD, but more than that, I have real AD/HD.

The second polish I’m showing for you on this double CotW is OPI Can You Tapas This?. Check out the deets and the review below.

Can You Tapas This?

Can You Tapas This?

So this is Can You Tapas This? as I applied it to my nails on Tuesday. It’s a lovely milk-chocolatey brown-raisin color that I’m absolutely in love with. And brown is not a color that I can normally say that about.

Now, check out the review for OPI Can You Tapas This?
•Application: Pretty good, I’d say. For me, though, it was slightly watery and with that big ProWide brush OPI is known for, that could spell trouble if not applied with a steady hand.
•Dry Time: About average, once again. I never really pay attention to dry times unless these are supposed to be fast-dry polishes.
•Coverage:  Despite the somewhat cumbersome brush and the slightly watery formula, this stuff was pretty well pigmented. I was able to get full impact in just two coats.
•Wear: OPI wears about as well as any of my other nail colors. After about 12 hours or so, there’s a bit of tipwear but not so bad that I have to start all over again. I applied this over my usual Nailtiques, so that helped with the staying power.

Depending on what kind of prep you do to your nails, and the base coat you use, you may have different results than mine. Maybe even better. So at this point I can neither recommend nor not recommend these two brands. I’m going to leave it up to your judgment.

Categories: China Glaze, OPI Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

